Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada logo

 

Left arrowWHAT IS FELLOWSHIP?

Left arrowWHY ROYAL COLLEGE FELLOWSHIP MATTERS?

Left arrowWHO GRANTS FELLOWSHIP?

Left arrowIS MY DOCTOR A FELLOW?

Left arrowHOW DO I BECOME A FELLOW?

FELLOWSHIP
MATTERS

Canada’s national standard for specialist medical expertise

Question mark

WHAT IS

FELLOWSHIP?

Royal College Fellowship is the national standard for specialist medical expertise. Because medicine keeps evolving, Royal College Fellows are always enhancing their learning and skills. This proven commitment to learning is what Fellowship is all about. This site will show you how the high standards created — and met — by Fellows provide confidence for patients like you, as well as for the physicians who refer you to them.

 

 

In June 1929, a special Act of Parliament established The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada to oversee postgraduate medical education.

The Royal College originally offered just two specialty qualifications: Fellowship in general medicine and Fellowship in general surgery. As medicine changed, so did the range of specializations.

Fellowship was first offered as a higher qualification to the basic Certification offered by the Royal College. Since 1972, there has been one high standard of Certification for all specialist physicians and surgeons, with Fellowship representing a voluntary commitment to professional development and science-based health advocacy.

In recent years, the Royal College has expanded its activities and voice, becoming increasingly active in issues that are important to Canadians, such as Aboriginal health, injury prevention, patient safety, health human resources, and international affairs.

Question mark

WHO

CAN BECOME A FELLOW?

The 37,018 Active Fellows of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada represent 80 medical or surgical specialties, from Adolescent Medicine to Urology. (As well as 13 Areas of Focused Competence called “AFC-diplomas.”)

Fellows are certified by the Royal College after they complete rigorous national examinations in a medical or surgical specialty. Fellows commit to lifelong learning and continuing professional development through the Royal College’s Maintenance of Certification (MOC) Program. This includes participation in ongoing activities such as conferences, workshops, seminars, rounds, journal clubs, small-group learning, and self-assessment programs (including practice reviews).

Fellows are the only doctors allowed to add the initials FRCPC (Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Canada) or FRCSC (Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of Canada) to their titles.

List of Specializations


  • Anatomical Pathology (AP)
  • Anesthesiology (ANES)
  • Cardiac Surgery (CS)
  • Dermatology
  • Diagnostic Radiology (DR)
  • Emergency Medicine (EM)
  • General Pathology (GP)
  • General Surgery (GS)
  • Hematological Pathology (HP)
  • Internal Medicine (IM)
  • Medical Biochemistry
  • Medical Genetics
  • Medical Microbiology
  • Neurology (adult or pediatrics)
  • Neuropathology
  • Neurosurgery
  • Nuclear Medicine
  • Obstetrics & Gynecology (OBGY)
  • Ophthalmology
  • Orthopedic Surgery (OS)
  • Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
  • Pediatrics (PED)
  • Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation (PM&R)
  • Plastic Surgery
  • Psychiatry (PSY)
  • Public Health and Preventive Medicine (PH&PM)
  • Radiation Oncology
  • Urology
  • Vascular Surgery
  • Adolescent Medicine
  • Cardiology (adult or pediatrics) (CARD)
  • Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
  • Clinical Immunology & Allergy (adult or pediatrics)
  • Clinical Pharmacology & Toxicology
  • Colorectal Surgery
  • Critical Care Medicine (adult or pediatrics) (CCM)
  • Developmental Pediatrics
  • Endocrinology & Metabolism (adult or pediatrics)
  • Forensic Pathology
  • Forensic Psychiatry
  • Gastroenterology (adult or pediatrics)
  • General Internal Medicine
  • General Surgical Oncology
  • Geriatric Medicine
  • Geriatric Psychiatry
  • Gynecologic Oncology
  • Gynecologic Reproductive Endocrinology & Infertility
  • Hematology (HEM)
  • Infectious Diseases (adult or pediatrics)
  • Interventional Radiology
  • Maternal Fetal Medicine
  • Medical Oncology
  • Neonatal Perinatal Medicine
  • Nephrology (adult or pediatrics)
  • Neuroradiology
  • Occupational Medicine (OM)
  • Pain Medicine
  • Pediatric Emergency Medicine
  • Pediatric Surgery
  • Pediatric Hematology/Oncology (PHO)
  • Pediatric Radiology
  • Respirology (adult or pediatrics)
  • Rheumatology (adult or pediatrics) (RHEUM)
  • Thoracic Surgery (TS)
  • Clinician Investigator Program
  • Palliative Medicine
  • Surgical Foundations

Learn if your doctor is a Royal College Fellow

FELLOWSHIP

FAQs

A physician may be certified by the Royal College without becoming a Fellow. However, about 90% of certified physicians decide to become Fellows within 2 years of their certification.

All Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada Fellows are certified by the Royal College, but not all who are certified commit to becoming Fellows.

Certification is an assessment of a resident’s knowledge and skills to ensure they satisfactorily meet the specialty-specific training requirements; Fellowship includes a commitment to continuing professional development through the Royal College’s Maintenance of Certification (MOC) Program.

FRCPC stands for “Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Canada” and FRCSC is “Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of Canada”. These are the official designations of active Fellows, and are proudly displayed by qualified doctors.

Family Physicians are not certified by the Royal College of Physicians of Canada, but by their own organizations, the College of Family Physicians of Canada and/or the Collège des médecins du Québec (CMQ), which certifies both family physicians and specialty physicians in Québec.

For more than 20 years, the Collège des médecins du Québec (CMQ) and the Royal College have worked together to ensure harmonization between their specialty medicine examinations and standards. In 2011, in recognition of equivalent standards between the two organizations, the Royal College offered Royal College Fellowship to CMQ-certified specialists.

You are within your rights, as a patient, to request that you be referred to a specialist who is a Fellow. However, as not all specialists are Fellows, there may not be a Fellow available in your area. Ask your Family Physician to access the Royal College Directory if you would like to see if there is an appropriate Fellow near you.

The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada maintains an up-to-date database of all Active Fellows. You can search for an individual doctor by name, or search for Fellows within a specialty by visiting the Royal College directory.

Question mark

WHY

ROYAL COLLEGE FELLOWSHIP
MATTERS?

Infographic: Why Royal College Fellowship Matters
Question mark

WHO

GRANTS FELLOWSHIP?

Fellowship is granted by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. It is the national professional organization that oversees the medical education of specialists in Canada.

The Royal College is a not-for-profit organization, created by a special Act of Parliament in 1929 to oversee postgraduate medical education.

Today, the Royal College accredits the university programs that train resident physicians for their specialty practices, and creates and administers the demanding examinations that residents must pass to ensure they meet national standards and to become certified as specialists.

The Royal College Practice Eligibility Route program offers certification options to internationally-trained medical graduates through either the traditional Royal College certification examination or, in the future, an equally comprehensive in-practice assessment.

The Royal College is dedicated to protecting the health of Canadians by helping physicians build skills, knowledge, and expertise in their specialties. The Royal College’s Maintenance of Certification (MOC) Program is a key lifelong learning and professional development program that helps specialist physicians keep their skills and knowledge up-to-date.

IS MY DOCTOR A FELLOW?

The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada maintains an up-to-date database of all Active Fellows. You can search for an individual doctor by name, or search for Fellows within a specialty:

Royal College Directory

Question mark

HOW

DO I BECOME A FELLOW?

Specialized physicians and surgeons in Canada can apply for Fellowship after receiving their certification from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

Step 1 Training: The Royal College has multiple routes to certification to accommodate the various training pathways that physicians may follow, including those of international medical graduates.
Step 2 Certification: The Traditional Route to Certification is intended for those who completed their postgraduate residency training in a Canadian program accredited by the Royal College (or an ACGME accredited program within the United States). International Medical Graduates who have completed specialty training outside of Canada or the United States can become certified through training and assessment programs offered by the Royal College.
Step 3 Fellowship: Upon certification, the Royal College invites the specialist to become a Fellow by committing to the Maintenance of Certification program and paying annual dues. The Royal College also gives Fellows a voice in setting and monitoring these standards in medical education and lifelong learning.

Logo de Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada

 

Flèche gaucheQU’EST-CE QUE LE TITRE D’ASSOCIÉ?

Flèche gauchePOURQUOI LE TITRE D’ASSOCIÉ EST SI IMPORTANT?

Flèche gaucheQUI ACCORDE LE TITRE D’ASSOCIÉ?

Flèche gaucheMON MÉDECIN EST-IL UN ASSOCIÉ?

Flèche gaucheCOMMENT DEVIENT-ON ASSOCIÉ?

L’IMPORTANCE DU
TITRE D’ASSOCIÉ

Normes nationales canadiennes en matière d’expertise mÉdicale spÉcialisÉe

Aide à la recherche

QU’EST-CE QUE

LE TITRE D’ASSOCIÉ?

Le titre d’Associé du Collège royal est un gage de conformité à la norme nationale en matière d’expertise médicale spécialisée. Comme la médecine ne cesse d’évoluer, les Associés du Collège royal enrichissent constamment leur apprentissage et leurs compétences. Cet engagement reconnu envers l’apprentissage continu est l’essence même de l'adhésion au Collège royal. Ce site vous permettra de mieux comprendre les normes élevées que les Associés s’engagent à respecter dans leur pratique pour vous offrir des soins et des services fiables et de grande qualité.

 

 

Le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada a été créé en juin 1929 en vertu d’une loi spéciale du Parlement pour encadrer la formation médicale postdoctorale.

Initialement, le processus de qualification du Collège royal ne visait que deux spécialités, le titre d’Associé n’étant attribué qu’en médecine et en chirurgie générales. Avec l’évolution de la médecine, l’éventail des spécialités s’est élargi.

Le titre d’Associé a d’abord été proposé comme une qualification supérieure à la certification de base du Collège royal. Depuis 1972, il n’existe qu’une seule norme élevée de certification pour tous les médecins et chirurgiens spécialistes. Le titre d’Associé, pour sa part, représente un engagement volontaire à l’égard du perfectionnement professionnel et de la protection de la santé fondée sur la science.

Ces dernières années, le Collège royal a élargi ses activités et son rayonnement. Il contribue de plus en plus à la recherche de solutions aux problèmes qui préoccupent les Canadiens, notamment la santé des Autochtones, la prévention des blessures, la sécurité des patients, les ressources humaines de la santé et les affaires internationales.

Aide à la recherche

QUI

peut dÉtenir le titre d’AssociÉ?

Le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada compte 37 018 Associés actifs représentant 80 spécialités de médecine et de chirurgie, allant de la médecine de l’adolescence à l’urologie, en plus de 13 domaines de compétence ciblée (DCC-diplômes).

Les Associés obtiennent le certificat du Collège royal après avoir réussi les examens nationaux rigoureux dans leur spécialité de médecine ou de chirurgie. Le programme de Maintien du certificat (MDC) du Collège royal favorise l’apprentissage et le développement professionnel continus des Associés. Ces derniers participent ainsi aux activités courantes telles que les conférences, les ateliers, les séminaires, les conférences en milieu hospitalier, les clubs de lecture, les séances d’apprentissage en groupes restreints et les programmes d’auto-évaluation (incluant l’évaluation de la pratique).

Les Associés sont les seuls médecins autorisés à ajouter les sigles FRCPC (Associé du Collège royal des médecins du Canada) ou FRCSC (Associé du Collège royal des chirurgiens du Canada) à leurs titres professionnels.

Liste des spÉcialitÉs


  • Anatomo-pathologie (AP)
  • Anesthésiologie (ANES)
  • Biochimie médicale
  • Chirurgie cardiaque (CC)
  • Chirurgie générale (CG)
  • Chirurgie orthopédique (CO)
  • Chirurgie plastique
  • Chirurgie vasculaire
  • Dermatologie
  • Génétique médicale
  • Médecine d'urgence (MU)
  • Médecine interne (MI)
  • Médecine nucléaire
  • Médecine physique et réadaptation (MPR)
  • Microbiologie médicale
  • Neurochirurgie
  • Neurologie (adulte ou pédiatrique)
  • Neuropathologie
  • Obstétrique et gynécologie (OBGY)
  • Ophtalmologie
  • Oto-rhino-laryngologie et chirurgie cervico-faciale
  • Pathologie générale (PG)
  • Pathologie hématologique (PH)
  • Pédiatrie (PED)
  • Psychiatrie (PSY)
  • Radio-oncologie (RO)
  • Radiologie diagnostique (RD)
  • Santé publique et médecine préventive (SP&MP)
  • Urologie
  • Cardiologie (adulte ou pédiatrique) (CARD)
  • Chirurgie colorectale
  • Chirurgie générale oncologique
  • Chirurgie pédiatrique
  • Chirurgie thoracique (CT)
  • Endocrinologie gynécologique de la reproduction et de l'infertilité
  • Endocrinologie et métabolisme (adulte ou pédiatrique)
  • Gastroentérologie (adulte ou pédiatrique)
  • Gériatrie
  • Gérontopyschiatrie
  • Hématologie (HEM)
  • Hématologie/oncologie pédiatrique (HOP)
  • Immunologie clinique et allergie (adulte ou pédiatrique)
  • Maladies infectieuses (adulte ou pédiatrique)
  • Médecine de la douleur
  • Médecine de l'adolescence
  • Médecine d'urgence pédiatrique
  • Médecine de soins intensifs (adulte ou pédiatrique) (MIS)
  • Médecine du travail (MT)
  • Médecine interne générale
  • Médecine maternelle et foetale
  • Médecine néonatale et périnatale
  • Néphrologie (adulte ou pédiatrique)
  • Neuroradiologie
  • Oncologie gynécologique
  • Oncologie médicale (OM)
  • Pathologie judiciaire
  • Pédiatrie du développement
  • Pharmacologie clinique et toxicologie
  • Pneumologie (adulte ou pédiatrique)
  • Psychiatrie de l'enfant et de l'adolescent
  • Psychiatrie légale
  • Radiologie interventionnelle
  • Radiologie pédiatrique
  • Rhumatologie (adulte ou pédiatrique) (RHU)
  • Programme de formation de cliniciens-chercheurs
  • Médecine palliative
  • Fondements chirurgicaux

Découvrez si votre médecin spécialiste est un associé

Foire aux questions

Un médecin peut détenir le certificat du Collège royal sans devenir Associé. Toutefois, environ 90 pour cent des médecins certifiés deviennent Associés dans les deux années suivant l’obtention de leur certificat.

Le certificat consiste en une évaluation des connaissances et des compétences des résidents pour s’assurer qu’ils respectent les exigences de formation propres à leur spécialité. Les Associés témoignent de la grande importance qu’ils accordent au développement professionnel continu en participant au programme de Maintien du certificat (MDC) du Collège royal.

Tous les Associés du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada détiennent le certificat du Collège royal, mais ils ne s’engagent pas tous à devenir Associés.

Les sigles FRCPC et FRCSC désignent respectivement les titres « Associé du Collège royal des médecins du Canada » et « Associé du Collège royal des chirurgiens du Canada », les deux désignations officielles des Associés actifs pouvant être utilisées avec fierté par les médecins qualifiés.

Les médecins de famille ne sont pas certifiés par le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada mais plutôt par leurs propres organisations, soit le Collège des médecins du Canada et/ou le Collège des médecins du Québec (CMQ). Ce dernier certifie les médecins de famille et les médecins spécialistes au Québec.

Pendant plus de 20 ans, le Collège des médecins du Québec (CMQ) et le Collège royal ont travaillé en collaboration dans le but d’harmoniser les examens et les normes régissant la médecine spécialisée. En 2011, le Collège royal a offert le titre d’Associé aux médecins spécialistes certifiés par le CMQ, reconnaissant ainsi l’équivalence des normes entre les deux organisations.

Comme patient, vous avez le droit de demander que l’on vous dirige vers un médecin spécialiste qui a son titre d’Associé. Cependant, puisque ce n’est pas le cas de tous les médecins spécialistes, il est possible qu’aucun Associé n’exerce dans votre région. Pour le savoir, demandez à votre médecin de famille de consulter le répertoire du Collège royal.

Le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada maintient à jour une base de données de tous les Associés actifs. Vous pouvez lancer une recherche sur un médecin en particulier en indiquant son nom ou trouver le nom de tous les Associés pratiquant dans une spécialité en particulier dans le Répertoire du Collège royal.

Aide à la recherche

POURQUOI

LE TITRE D’ASSOCIÉ EST
SI IMPORTANT?

Infographique : Pourquoi le titre d’associé est si important.
Aide à la recherche

QUI

ACCORDE LE TITRE D’ASSOCIÉ?

Le titre d’Associé est accordé par le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, l’association professionnelle nationale qui supervise la formation médicale des spécialistes au Canada.

Le Collège royal est un organisme à but non lucratif créé en 1929 en vertu d’une loi spéciale du Parlement pour encadrer la formation médicale postdoctorale.

De nos jours, le Collège royal octroie l’agrément aux programmes universitaires de formation des résidents dans leur spécialité. De plus, il produit et administre les examens rigoureux que les résidents doivent réussir pour s’assurer de répondre aux normes nationales et obtenir leur certificat dans leur spécialité.

La Route d’évaluation par la pratique du Collège royal mène à la certification des diplômés en médecine formés à l’étranger, soit au moyen de l’examen traditionnel de certification du Collège royal ou, dorénavant, d’une évaluation tout aussi exhaustive en milieu de pratique.

Le Collège royal s’engage à protéger la santé des Canadiens en aidant les médecins à développer les compétences, les connaissances et l’expertise requises dans leur spécialité. Le programme de Maintien du certificat (MDC) du Collège royal est un programme indispensable d’apprentissage et de développement professionnel continus qui permet aux médecins spécialistes de maintenir leurs compétences et connaissances à jour.

MON MÉDECIN EST-IL UN ASSOCIÉ?

Le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada tient une base de données à jour pour l’ensemble des Associés actifs. Vous pouvez effectuer une recherche par nom ou par spécialité :

Le répertoire du Collège royal

Aide à la recherche

COMMENT

DEVIENT-ON ASSOCIÉ?

Les médecins et chirurgiens spécialistes du Canada sont admissibles au titre d’Associé après avoir obtenu le certificat du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada.

Étape 1 Formation : Le Collège royal offre plusieurs voies menant à la certification afin d’accommoder les différents parcours de formation des médecins, y compris celui des médecins diplômés à l’étranger.
Étape 2 Certification : La voie d’accès traditionnelle à la certification s’adresse aux candidats qui ont effectué leur formation postdoctorale dans un programme canadien agréé par le Collège royal (ou dans un programme agréé par l’ACGME aux états-Unis). Les médecins diplômés hors du Canada et des états-Unis peuvent obtenir le certificat en suivant des programmes de formation et d’évaluation offerts par le Collège royal.
Étape 3 Titre d’AssociÉ : Après la certification, le Collège royal invite les médecins spécialistes à devenir Associés en participant au programme de Maintien du certificat et en payant leur cotisation annuelle. Le Collège royal permet également aux Associés de s’exprimer quant à l’élaboration et au suivi des normes de formation médicale et d’apprentissage continu.